Newbery Author Agenda

It is my goal to read all of the Newbery medal books at some time. I have a few down, many more to go. I will keep track here, as well as offer some recommendations. For now I will order the books according to year.

2012 Honors Book- Breaking Stalin’s Nose – A fast read about a Stalinist era youth and his maturing thoughts and beliefs (recommended)

2012 – Dead End in Norvelt – Wasn’t a totally engaging read… Moon over Manifest seemed to offer a better connection to the historical setting.

2011 – Moon over Manifest – This book about a young girl in Kansas, just trying to make sense of her life. Some people didn’t like the pace, but I thought it was nice and easy, like a slow, hot summer day. (recommended)

2009 – The Graveyard Book – I still don’t know the point of this book, or why it was chosen. I thought it contained to much new-agey gobble-dee-gook. (not recommended)

2009 Honors Book – Savvy – If it was my choice, this would be the award winner. Great developed characters and family interactions, clever writing that educates as it entertains, and just a fun read overall. (recommended)

2004 – The Tale of Despereaux – I started reading this book to my two-year-old. He seemed to stay engaged fairly well. I know I enjoyed it as an adult. That is one true sign of a good book. “A children’s story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children’s story in the slightest.” – C. S. Lewis (recommended)

1994 – The Giver – Read this one around the time I first started teaching. I loved the weight and theological implications. A good tool to introduce children to truth and what is really real. (recommended)

1990 – Number the Stars – A true heroine that does what is right no matter what. Have your daughter read this one first. (recommended)

1977 – Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry – Read this one with my fifth grade class in Colorado. A great historical novel about the dignity of all humans, being made in the image of God. (recommended)

1962 – The Bronze Bow – Highly recommended! I loved the extra-biblical account of Jesus and his influence.

1929 – The Trumpeter of Krakow – An historical fiction book filled with the right amount of history and mystery. (Recommended)

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

