Dystopian Fiction Recommendations

Recommended:

Divergent Series by Veronica Roth – Better than Hunger Games by far. This young Christian author weaves a great story of the fight for good and the evil that can exist within us all.

Pathfinder Series by Orson Scott Card – His Mormon background adds some much needed morality to the dystopian malaise. A strong and loving marriage is also on display in the book, which is often not a characteristic of a YA book. I just recently finished the second book in the series, Ruins, and though it is a little heady with the philosophy, it still kept me interested and caused me to think.

Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness – A great, innovative concept, but very graphic at times. I see boys enjoying this series more than girls. The final book in the series is one of the best. This series will get your moral imagination working. Also, romance is a part of the story, but it is meaningful and not overdone.

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi – Fast paced story about a boy beating the odds. There is some language and tough situations, but I believe it is shown in a truthful light. He has a new book called “The Drowned Cities.” I’ll hopefully read that and be able to review it soon.

Not Recommended:

Hunger Games Trilogy – I say this only to be different, but N. D. Wilson has shown that Katniss’ sacrifice is really no sacrifice at all. She goes on to do great evil against her fellow man. See his take at: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/trevinwax/2012/05/17/why-hunger-games-is-flawed-to-its-core/

Any crazy romantic paranormal dystopian fluff… I have to say that I haven’t read them, but they don’t look redemptive just by their covers. I know, don’t judge a book by it’s cover. But sometimes, yes, do judge it. I watch many high school students, regardless of their faith, reading books that I wouldn’t want anyone to read no matter their age. It is my hope that parents would be more aware of the content going through the heart of children.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

